A single car crash can result in thousands of dollars' worth of repair and medical bills. Without maintaining valid auto insurance coverage, a driver could end up owing huge amounts of money. In most states, car insurance is required by law. Utah is no exception. In fact, the state doesn't just require drivers to maintain valid liability insurance; it requires them to maintain valid no-fault insurance too. Indeed, Utah is one of the toughest states when it comes to maintaining insurance coverage, and residents are smart to educate themselves about the state's minimum insurance requirements.
After finding out about Utah's minimum car insurance requirements, some drivers buy policies that match them exactly. This may seem fine, but it can actually cause serious problems. The issue is that the minimum coverage levels that are mandated by the Beehive State are often insufficient. It all depends on a driver's specific needs, of course, but most people opt to buy more extensive auto insurance coverage. No one wants to be handed a bill for thousands of dollars, and maintaining high-quality car insurance is an excellent way to avoid that unhappy fate.
Who Drives in Utah?
Those who aren't quite convinced about the importance of maintaining valid auto insurance should consider who drives in the state of Utah. The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of the state was 2,855,287 in 2012. That total includes everyone from newborns to senior citizens, so it doesn't reflect how many drivers are on the road. For that information, the Federal Highway Administration is an invaluable resource. That agency reports that there were 1,747,487 licensed drivers in the state in November 2012, so 61.2 percent of the population is legally capable of driving.
Auto insurance providers consider many factors when calculating insurance premiums. Gender is not one of them, however, because there is no conclusive proof that being a man or a woman significantly increases a person's odds of being in a car crash. It's still interesting to consider these statistics, however. According to the FHA, there are 876,404 male drivers in the state, and they account for 50.15 percent of all licensed drivers. There are 871,083 female drivers, and they account for 49.85 percent of all licensed drivers.
Although gender isn't considered when determining insurance premiums, age is. Not surprisingly, young drivers are riskier, so their premiums tend to be higher. As of November 2012, there were 63,812 drivers aged 19 and below in the state of Utah, and they account for 3.7 percent of the total. The largest group of drivers is also relatively young and consists of people between the ages of 30 and 34. This group totals 97,974 people and accounts for 5.6 percent of the total.
Car Insurance Requirements in Utah
As a no-fault state, Utah has some very strict auto insurance requirements. Drivers are expected to be aware of these requirements, and it's up to them to make sure that their policies meet or exceed them. In order to meet the state's requirements, a car insurance policy must include:
- At least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
- At least $65,000 in bodily injury coverage for two or more people
- At least $15,000 in property damage coverage
Drivers' policies must also include Personal Injury Protection totaling at least $3,000. This is what is meant when the state is referred to as a no-fault state.
The Beehive State actively keeps track of all registered drivers to ensure that they maintain valid auto insurance coverage. If it discovers that a driver doesn't appear to have insurance, the state will send a letter, and the driver must provide proof of coverage.
Driving without car insurance in Utah is a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties vary, but drivers often face the suspensions of their driver's licenses and vehicle registrations. Fines of at least $400 are typically assessed as well. What's more is that a driver must pay various reinstatement fees in order to legally get behind the wheel again in the state of Utah.