In most states, there are laws on the books about auto insurance. Most of the time, people are required to maintain valid coverage in order to operate motor vehicles. The state of Tennessee is no exception. Like other states, Tennessee has good reasons to require auto liability insurance. Those who drive without insurance face a variety of consequences. Despite these laws, plenty of people still drive without insurance. The state has minimum requirements for auto liability insurance, and drivers should be aware of them to avoid problems. Even so, these minimums are often not enough. Many drivers collect auto insurance quotes to find affordable policies with better limits and superior coverage.
Some drivers in the Volunteer State simply aren't convinced that they need auto insurance at all. When they get caught driving without insurance, they have to pay fines and deal with other consequences. Some folks don't see the point in getting more extensive coverage and are content with getting insurance that barely meets the minimum requirements. This attitude is problematic because these minimums fall short of protecting many drivers. One way to drive home the importance of high-quality insurance is by considering driving statistics for the state of Tennessee, which reveal that there are millions of people on the road there.
Who Drives in Tennessee?
The Volunteer State isn't terribly big, but it has a pretty large population. Many people live in highly populated areas like Nashville and Chattanooga, but plenty of others live in rural parts of the state. The U.S. Census Bureau reports that Tennessee's estimated population in 2012 was 6,456,243. There were 4,543,759 licensed drivers in the state in November 2012. That information comes from the Federal Highway Administration, which tracks driving statistics in all U.S. states. 70.4 percent of the population is legally able to drive.
Some people think that men are better drivers than women, or vise-versa. In reality, there's no proof of such discrepancies between the genders. Insurance companies don't consider people's gender while calculating premiums. In Tennessee, there were 2,190,213 male drivers, which means they accounted for 48.2 percent of all licensed drivers. There were 2,353,546 female drivers, so they accounted for 51.8 percent of all licensed drivers.
Most people understand why age is an important factor to insurance carriers. Younger drivers, who are less experienced, are riskier to insure. In exchange, insurance companies charge them higher premiums. In Tennessee inNovember 2012, 132,865 people, or 2.9 percent of all licensed drivers, were aged 19 and below. There are plenty of older, more experienced drivers in the Volunteer State as well. The group consisting of people between the ages of 45 and 49 is the largest. It includes 207,452 people, or 4.6 percent of all licensed drivers.
Car Insurance Requirements in Tennessee
There's no use in pleading ignorance of Tennessee's minimum car insurance requirements. Those who don't have the right coverage face several consequences. As noted previously, it is usually best to get even more extensive coverage. Sticking with the minimum amounts is a good way to end up with huge bills later, and the only way to settle those bills is with cash.
The minimum requirements for car insurance in Tennessee are:
- At least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
- At least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage for two or more people
- At least $15,000 in property damage coverage
Tennessee attempts to enforce its auto insurance requirements by penalizing those who are caught driving without coverage. In the state, being convicted of driving without insurance is a Class C misdemeanor. This type of conviction can result in a fine of up to $100 and the suspension of the offender's driver's license. Furthermore, a STOP is filed against the offender's driving file, and he will be unable to renew his registration until he's able to show the state that he has the minimum amount of insurance.
After being caught driving without insurance, a driver must pay a fine, obtain coverage and show proof of it and pay various reinstatement fees.