Most states have laws on the books about auto insurance, and North Carolina is no exception. These laws are enacted to ensure that all drivers are protected while operating vehicles in the state. Even though it's even every driver's best interests to maintain valid car insurance, many people won't do so unless they're compelled. Simply having a car insurance policy won't cut it, though. Drivers have to make sure to buy policies that meet the state's minimum requirements. It's wise to obey the law, but most people can stand to buy more extensive coverage.
Just because a car insurance policy meets the basic requirements that are set forth by the state of North Carolina doesn't mean that it offers enough protection. Every driver's circumstances are different, and people need to be sure that they will be covered if or when car accidents occur. By considering driving statistics for the Tar Heel State, drivers can gain a clearer understanding of why it's so important to have first-rate coverage. There are millions of drivers in the state, and many of them have very little experience. After learning that, people are more likely to buy more extensive coverage.
Who Drives in North Carolina?
The 2012 population estimate for the state of North Carolina, as reported by the United States Census Bureau, was 9,752,073. Out of that number, 6,569,341 people, or 67.4 percent of the population of the state, are licensed to drive. That data comes from the Federal Highway Administration, which tracks driving statistics across the country. It should also be noted that 3,186,8895 people, or 48.51 percent of all drivers, are men, and 3,382,446 people, or 51.49 percent of all drivers, are female.
A person's gender is immaterial when it comes to calculating insurance premiums. Insurance providers in the state of North Carolina do not take gender into consideration when determining rates. Age is another matter entirely. Statistically speaking, younger drivers are more likely to be involved in accidents. They have less experience and are more likely to do reckless things. As of November 2012, there were 212,448 drivers aged 19 and below in the Tar Heel State. That means that 3.2 percent of all drivers are very young and probably quite inexperienced. The largest group, which is made up of people between the ages of 45 and 49, had 640,543 members. Just under 10 percent of all licensed drivers fell into that group.
Car Insurance Requirements in North Carolina
If being aware of the number of drivers that are on the road in North Carolina isn't enough to convince someone to get auto insurance, the fact that it's required by law might do the trick. In the state of North Carolina, liability insurance is the only way to establish proof of financial responsibility. Drivers face serious consequences for going without valid insurance.
It should be noted that all insurance policies must meet the following basic minimums. However, there is nothing wrong with exceeding these minimums. In fact, it's almost always best to do so. The basic car insurance requirements for the state of North Carolina are:
- At least $30,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
- At least $60,000 in bodily injury coverage for two or more people
- At least $25,000 in property damage coverage
Drivers must provide a Certificate of Insurance, or an FS-1 form, to the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to register a vehicle. They may also present the name of their insurance provider and policy number.
Insurance providers notify the DMV when drivers' policies lapse or are canceled. The DMV then contacts such drivers and gives them 10 days to respond. If there was a lapse, a driver must pay a fee that's based on the length of the gap. Drivers who fail to respond to these notices may have their licenses suspended for 30 days. They may also have to pay fines of up to $150. Avoiding these and other consequences is easy. Drivers should collect auto insurance quotes in North Carolina and buy first-rate policies.