Maine is nicknamed the Pine Tree State. With a quick drive through just about any part of the state, it's easy to see why. Despite the fact that it's quite large geographically, it has a very sparse population. Still, there are parts of the state that experience fairly high volumes of traffic. Even in rural areas, accidents happen all the time. It makes sense that Maine has fairly strict auto insurance requirements. In fact, the state has some of the highest minimums in the country.
Drivers are smart to study up about the minimum auto insurance requirements in the state of Maine. It's an excellent first step in the process. However, additional steps can and should be taken to ensure the best results. Drivers often don't take the need for excellent coverage seriously and buy policies with the lowest allowable coverage limits. A great way to avoid this problem, which can be a very costly mistake, is by understanding who is on the road in Maine at any given time. By knowing statistics about drivers in the state of Maine, those who are shopping for car insurance policies will be more careful about obtaining excellent coverage.
Who Drives in Maine?
Maine is a fairly large state, especially when it is compared to other states in the northeastern U.S. However, its population is quite small. According to the United States Census Bureau, Maine's estimated population in 2012 was 1,329,192. The population may be small, but it's mobile. According to the Federal Highway Administration, 1,014,826 people, or 76.3 percent of the population, was legally licensed to drive as of November 2012. Men accounted for 49.57 percent of that total with 504,042 drivers while women accounted for 50.43 percent of that total with 511,784 drivers.
It's interesting to consider how many men drive in Maine versus how many women, but car insurance companies can't take gender into consideration when calculating premiums. After all, it would be really unfair. A person's age plays a major role in how much he or she will pay, however, with younger drivers facing much higher premiums. In Maine as of November 2012, there were 40,009 drivers aged 19 or below, so they accounted for 4 percent of all licensed drivers. The state has a significant number of older, more experienced drivers. People between the ages of 50 and 54 accounted for 10.5 percent of all licensed drivers with a total of 106,894.
Car Insurance Requirements in Maine
People who have lived elsewhere in the country may know that some states have several different options when it comes to proving financial responsibility. For instance, some states allow drivers to file surety bonds in lieu of maintaining valid insurance. That isn't the case with Maine at all. Liability car insurance is the only way to prove financial responsibility. There are additional requirements as well.
As for liability insurance in Maine, the basic insurance requirements are:
- At least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
- At least $100,000 in bodily injury coverage for two or more people
- At least $25,000 in property damage coverage
Note that these are the absolute minimum requirements and that most drivers in Maine opt for more extensive coverage because it protects them more adequately. These minimums will help drivers avoid penalties.
In Maine, drivers who are unable to obtain normal auto insurance policies may join the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan.
Unlike many states, Maine doesn't require insurance providers to report to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, or BMV. However, drivers must show proof of insurance in order to register their vehicles. Therefore, it is necessary to collect auto insurance quotes and buy coverage prior to registering a vehicle and hitting the road legally.
It is against the law to drive without valid liability insurance in Maine. Drivers who are unable to show proof of coverage are ordered to file form SR-22, which can be expensive and cumbersome to obtain. Some drivers may have to continue to do this for a while in order to avoid more serious consequences.