Like residents of all states, people who live in Kansas are wise to purchase decent auto insurance policies before getting behind the wheel. While basic coverage is required by law, it's generally best to purchase insurance policies with more extensive limits. No one plans to be involved in an accident, but such incidents happen every day. Kansas is criss-crossed by many major highways, and accidents happen every day throughout the state. Collecting auto insurance quotes is a great way to zero in on exceptional coverage, but additional steps should be taken as well.
Informed shoppers tend to get the best products and most superior deals, and that's certainly true when it comes to buying auto insurance in Kansas. Those who are strictly concerned with obeying the law may limit themselves to researching the most basic requirements. It's wise to be aware of what the state requires, but it's also better to buy insurance that exceeds these requirements. After learning how many people are on the road in the Wheat State and a few other basic demographics, most people can see the logic behind buying the best insurance they can afford.
Who Drives in Kansas
The estimated 2012 population of Kansas, according to the U.S. Census Bureau, was 2,885,905. Out of that number, 2,025,581 people, or 70.2 percent of the population, are legally licensed to drive. Statistics about who drives in various states are collected by the Federal Highway Administration. A variety of interesting facts are available about Kansas drivers. For instance, 1,001,712 licensed drivers, or 49.45 percent of the total, are male. 1,023,869 licensed drivers, or 50.55 percent of the total, are female. 910 of every 1,000 people who are of legal driving age are licensed to drive.
As interesting as it is to learn about how many men and women drive in Kansas, it's important to remember that insurance companies don't take gender into consideration when determining auto insurance premiums. They do, however, consider age. Younger drivers are less experienced, so they are riskier to insure. In Kansas in November 2012, there were 148,411 drivers aged 19 or below, which equals 7.3 percent of all licensed drivers. 191,266 people, or 9.4 percent of all licensed drivers in the state of Kansas, were between the ages of 50 and 54.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Kansas
Some states have fairly relaxed auto insurance requirements, but that's not the case with Kansas. In fact, drivers must have three types of insurance to legally operate motor vehicles in the Wheat State. Technically, some drivers may also use self-insurance, but they are few and far between.
The minimum requirements for liability insurance in Kansas are as follows:
- At least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- At least $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
- At least $10,000 in property damage coverage
Personal Injury Protection coverage, or PIP, is also required in Kansas. It must include:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $25 per day for one year for in-home services
- $4,5000 for rehabilitation services
- $900 per month for one year for loss of income or disability
- $2,000 for burial expenses
In addition to that, all drivers must maintain uninsured and underinsured driver coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
In the state of Kansas, all insurance carriers must report insurance lapses to the DMV. Driving without proof of valid auto insurance is considered a Class B misdemeanor in Kansas. For the first offense, drivers face fines of up to $1,000 and jail time of up to six months. Subsequent offenses within three years of the first one result in fines of up to $2,500 and the loss of vehicle registration. A person's driver's license may also be suspended. The exact penalties depend on the nature of the offense and other factors.
With these points in mind, drivers should collect auto insurance quotes in Kansas and base their decisions on the information that is presented to them.