Despite its extremely compact size, the state of Connecticut is home to a large number of registered drivers. The fact that Connecticut is so densely populated makes it all the more critical to maintain valid auto insurance at all times. In fact, all drivers are legally required to maintain coverage. Those who don't face fines and other penalties. Although people don't usually savor the idea of having to buy auto insurance, the good news is that shopping around and collecting quotes can lead to very competitive premiums.
Drivers in Connecticut
Before shopping for auto insurance in Connecticut, it helps to learn a little about the kinds of people who are on the road in the Constitution State. In 2012, the U.S. Census Bureau reported a population of 3,590,347 for the state. Out of that number, 2,986,267 people, or 83.2 percent of the population, were legally registered to operate a motor vehicle. That figure and other statistics comes from the Federal Highway Administration. Although gender isn't taken into consideration when calculating premiums, it's interesting to note that 1,483,107 people, or 49.66 percent of all drivers, are male and 1,503,160 people, or 50.34 percent of all drivers, are female.
There are many interesting statistics about drivers in Connecticut. One thing that does affect the cost of a premium is the driver's age. The younger a driver is, the higher his premium is likely to be. That's mostly because insurance companies know that younger drivers are less experienced and more likely to get into accidents. In Connecticut, 90,690 people, or 3 percent of all drivers, are aged 19 and under. The largest group, which includes drivers between the ages of 45 and 49, includes 305,622 people, or 10.2 percent of all drivers in the state.
People are sometimes tempted to get the bare minimum when shopping for auto insurance in Connecticut. When they consider who is on the road, however, they usually agree that it is best to buy more extensive coverage. 834 out of every 1,000 residents of the state of Connecticut are registered to drive. Interestingly enough, 1,038 out of every 1,000 people who are eligible to drive in Connecticut are registered to do so. There's no doubt about it: The roads in Connecticut are choked with automobiles.
Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
People who need insurance in Connecticut shouldn't just buy policies at random. In order to fulfill the letter of the law, all auto insurance policies must meet certain minimum requirements. In some states, there are several ways to prove financial responsibility, which is what the law wants to see. That's not the case in Connecticut, where the only way to show proof of financial responsibility is by maintaining a valid liability auto insurance policy. The DMV must have proof that a driver possesses this type of coverage.
The minimum requirements for auto insurance in Connecticut are:
- At least $20,000 in bodily injury coverage for a single person
- At least $40,000 in bodily injury coverage for two or more people
- At least $10,000 in property damage coverage
It is not easy to get around the requirement for car insurance in Connecticut. The state uses electronic reporting to ensure that all registered drivers remain compliant. Insurance carriers notify the DMV when lapses and cancellations occur.
In most instances, a warning notice is mailed to a driver whose insurance has lapsed for some reason. The driver must then show proof of insurance and possibly pay a $200 fine. Drivers who ignore this notice run the risk of suspension. A hearing is scheduled, and the driver's privileges are generally suspended. The only way to have them reinstated is by showing proof of liability auto insurance and paying a reinstatement fee of up to $200.
By maintaining basic liability insurance, a driver can operate a vehicle legally in Connecticut. However, most people buy more extensive coverage to protect themselves even more. Collecting auto insurance quotes in Connecticut is easy, and it's a great way to zero in on exceptional policies for less.